Your Privacy Matters
We want to tell you exactly what data we receive when you use this app, and what we do with it.
We use your location only when you need it. The app asks for your current location when you're using the app to show you nearby stations and to make it easier to get directions to your destination. Once you close the app, it won't ask for your location again.
If you've set a Get Off Alarm, the app will ask for permission to use your location even if the app is closed so it can send you notifications while you're on your journey. Once your journey is complete, the app stops using your location.
We don’t store your personal information. We don’t keep any server logs, or keep track of who is using our apps. When you look up bus and train times, or plan a trip, we send you the information – nothing more.
We don’t sell your data. We don’t collect it anyway.
We use our own tracking system. When you open the app, and when you move from screen to screen, that information is sent to us as part of a report. We just see reports of how many people are using the app, which devices they are using, and which countries and cities they are using the app in.
Any identifiable information like location and IP addresses are anonymized. This information isn’t shared with anybody, and all raw data is automatically erased after 30 days.
If you don't want to share any data with us, just switch 'Share Usage Data' to OFF in the More screen.
There are occasions where we come into contact with your personal information, like when you send us feedback. We collect your name, email address and location so we can answer your questions quickly. We don't use or share this information for marketing purposes, but your details may be stored on our email and helpdesk systems. If you don't want to be identified when you contact us, use the contact form on our website using a disposable email address.
We do share some information with third parties, which we’ll outline below. This is necessary to show adverts in the app, and it’s how we sustain our business and deliver new features in the app. If you don’t want your data to be shared with anyone, you can purchase a one-off in-app purchase that will disable advertising within the app.
You can opt out of receiving personalised advertising within the app by switching 'Personalised Ads' to OFF in the More screen.
Google AdMob – we use Google’s AdMob platform to deliver adverts to the app. Your phone sends a unique ID that can be tracked from visit to visit so the adverts you see are better targeted to you. Your location is used for advertising purposes as well if you allow the app to use Location Services.
CommuteStream – we use the CommuteStream platform to deliver location-specific adverts when you select certain routes and stops in North America. Your phone sends a unique ID that can be tracked from visit to visit.
Crash reporting – we want to know if the app crashes when you’re using it, so if it does crash (sorry!), the next time you open it up, the app will send a crash report to Bugsnag – which gives us reports on any app crashes and on which screen it happened. All information is anonymized, by the way, so all we see is the type of phone you’re using and the country you’re in.
Push Notifications – we use OneSignal to send out push notifications. They use a unique ID that identifies the app on your phone, which isn't connected to any of your personal details.
We'll periodically review what third-party systems we use in order to make sure you’re getting the best service.
You are our customer. We want to do everything we can to make sure any data you send to us is protected, and the best way to do that is not to store it at all.
Thanks for using our app,
the Whiz team
Last updated: 10 October 2019